Defias Brotherhood
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

How Do You RolePlay?

+2
Charlie Blazesong
Reynard
6 posters

Go down

How Do You RolePlay? Empty How Do You RolePlay?

Post by Reynard Sun Mar 20, 2016 11:00 pm

Greetings all,

First some background about me as a player:

I'm an experienced RPer, having been playing pen and paper RPGs for coming on towards 40 years (ouch, that makes me old!).  I know how to RP in MMOs, in terms of speaking in character, knowing only what your character knows, emoting, walking around not running all the time etc, etc.  That's all easy and straight forward.  I know how to make a character's backstory interesting and detailed.  I know how to work plot hooks into it - these are really useful in pen and paper RPGs as the DM can use them to tie your background into his story and make it more personal.   I'm an accomplished writer (I've published 2 novels).

What I have never understood is how people RP their toons in MMOs, in terms of what they do, day to day on the game.   I'm really struggling to get it.  If you're playing a pen and paper game then the DM lays down the story and plot and NPCs etc.  You deal with them and react to them in the way your PC would.   Now in WoW this is all laid out by the NPCs and quest system.  But obviously RPing in an MMO takes it a step further.  But this is the bit I can't get my head around.

Example:  I've a human warrior whose background indicates that he is an acomplished swordsman who found a book which described the way of the blademaster (think Kensai in Japanese tradition).  He has decided to take on this way of life.  He wears no armour, but just robes (took up tailor profession to make some nice looking robes) and he wields a two handed sword (I went for a katana-looking one to complete the effect).  All good so far.